Maurice Steger in America

Maurice Steger headed to North America three times this winter, as well as pursuing his playing, teaching and conducting activities in Mexico and Canada.

Students and budding musicians at the National Autonomous University of Mexico in Mexico City (UNAM) were able to make fantastic progress during a project involving Bach cantatas. Maurice Steger was a guest professor alongside the country’s recorder players. For a short excerpt from BWV 150 filmed during a choir practice by the Academia de MĂșsica Antigua Mexico City, click here:

Privacy notice: Clicking the play button establishes a connection to YouTube.

The recorder player made an appearance at the most prestigious festival in the country, Cervantino, performing concerts with the Mexican Baroque orchestra Antiqva Metropoli and the violin virtuosos Luca Giardini (Italy) & Juan Luis Matuz Garcia (Mexico), a name to remember. Emotions, musical joie de vivre and sensuality of sound came together to produce an unforgettable experience.

Together with Hille Perl (viol) and Diego Ares (harpsichord), Maurice Steger gave a guest performance at the Montreal Bach Festival (http://www.festivalbachmontreal.com). This wonderful event series presents not only the music of Bach, but also a number of fantastic artists who travel from all over the world to attend this great festival every year. The image shows artists during their rehearsal at the Bach House Montreal.

Once again, Maurice Steger spent two weeks in Canada in February. The programme included performances for children, including the musical fairy tale Tino Flautino and the tomcat Leo. This was the first time the artist had the pleasure of collaborating with the great comedian Renaud Paradis: both colourful and richly detailed – and adapted to the children and their habits – this children’s musical at the Palais Montcalm was performed by the fantastic team made up of Steger, Paradis and Les Violons du Roy. https://www.facebook.com/palaismontcalm/photos/pcb.4123913164301679/4123904780969184/?type=3&theater

 

A programme featuring all things related to George Frideric Handel and his English circle was played four times in Montreal and QuĂ©bec City, and the dream team consisting of Les Violons du Roy and Maurice Steger were extremely happy to be reunited. There is a harmony between the artists that is both palpable and audible – it is also unique. The performers were at the top of their game, inspiring and wonderfully versatile, allowing the audience to be immersed in an enchantingly beautiful musical landscape. A huge success and what is more: they produced a tender harmony that is affecting, tells stories and transports listeners to another world.

Read the review by Christophe Huss: https://www.ledevoir.com/culture/musique/573059/critique-concert

Back in his native Switzerland, Maurice Steger will perform at a benefit concert for victims of the Australian bushfires: https://artistsforaustralia.ch

A concert featuring Maurice Steger and harpsichordist Rudolf Lutz will take place in Winterthur on 27 February 2020. Get ready for a veritable fireworks show of sound by these two unique musicians. https://www.winterthurbarock.ch

Next Post
Klosters invites with Haydn, Mozart & Co. to a live concert in the Swiss mountains
Previous Post
On concert tours
X

Maurice Steger in Amerika

Maurice Steger war drei mal in diesem Winter in Nordamerika und durfte seine Tätigkeiten Spielen, Unterrichten und Dirigieren in Mexiko und Kanada ausüben.

Wunderbare Fortschritte durften die Studierenden und jungen Musikerinnen der UNAM Universität Mexiko City in einem Projekt mit Bach Kantaten erfahren, in welchem Maurice Steger neben den Blockflötisten des Landes als Gastprofessor gewirkt hat.

Sehen Sie hier einen kurzen Ausschnitt aus BWV 150 in einer Chorprobe der Academia de Música Antigua Mexico City:

Datenschutzhinweis: Durch das Anklicken des Play-Buttons wird eine Verbindung zu YouTube hergestellt.

Beim renommiertesten Festival des Landes, Cervantino, gab der Blockflötist Konzerte mit dem mexikanischen Barockorchester Antiqva Metropoli und den Violinvirtuosen Luca Giardini (Italien) & Juan Luis Matuz Garcia (Mexico), ein Name, den wir merken dürfen: Emotion, Spielfreude und Klangsinnlichkeit haben sich hier ideal getroffen.

Zusammen mit Hille Perl, Viola da Gamba und Diego Ares, Cembalo, gastierte Maurice Steger beim International Bach Festival Montreal. Eine wunderbare Veranstaltungsreihe präsentiert hier nicht nur die Musik von Bach, auch eine Reihe toller Künstler aus aller Welt besuchen jährlich dieses grossartige Festival. Hier sehen Sie die Künstler bei den Proben im Bach House Montreal:

Und wieder war Maurice Steger im Februar für zwei Wochen in Kanada. Auf dem Programm standen Aufführungen für Kinder mit dem Programm Tino Flautino and the tomcat Leo. Zum ersten Mal hatte der Künstler die Zusammenarbeit dem grossartigen Comedian Renaud Paradis geniessen dürfen: So farben wie detailreich, so den Kindern und ihren Gewohnheiten angepasst, so packend spannend wurde dieses Kindermusical im Palais Montcalm von diesem fantastischen Team mit Steger, Paradis und den Violons du Roy gegeben.

Ein Programm um Georg Friedrich Händel und sein englisches Umfeld wurde viermal in Montreal und Québec City gespielt und das dreamteam der Violons du Roy und Maurice Steger haben sich mit grosser Freude und Begeisterung wieder getroffen. Es ist eine Harmonie zwischen den Künstlern spür- und hörbar, die einmalig ist. Auf höchstem Niveau, so inspirierend und phänomenal facettenreich spielten die Ausführenden und liessen das Publikum eintauchen in eine zauberhaft schöne Musiklandschaft. Grosser Erfolg und noch viel wichtiger: eine liebevolle Harmonie, die berührt, mitreisst und Geschichten erzählt.

Lesen Sie die Kritik von Christophe Huss

Zurück in seinem Heimatland spielt Maurice Steger bei einem Benefizkonzert mit für die australischen Brandopfer in Australien: https://artistsforaustralia.ch

In Winterthur findet am 27.2.2020 ein Konzert mit Maurice Steger und dem Cembalisten Rudolf Lutz statt. Die Beiden werden ein musikalisches feu d’Artifice entzünden, seien Sie gespannt auf dieses einmalige Duo. https://www.winterthurbarock.ch

Nächster Beitrag
Klosters lädt mit Haydn, Mozart & Co. zum Livekonzert in den Schweizer Bergen
Vorheriger Beitrag
Auf Konzertreisen

Neueste Beiträge

Menü
X
X