Instruments

Collaborating with the best recorder builders

As a recorder player, Maurice Steger relies on the world‚Äôs best recorder makers, who have the expertise to craft original instruments according to Baroque designs in such a way that the instruments sound authentic and are also suitable for modern concert venues. The artist‚Äôs collection of over 70 instruments ‚Äď which are all in different pitches and sizes, and which feature a variety of characteristics ‚Äď forms the foundations of his entire recorder repertoire.

Various recorder makers have contributed to Maurice Steger‚Äôs impressive instrument collection ‚Äď particularly worthy of mention is the long-standing collaboration with four Swiss recorder-making specialists, who produce instruments of many different types, as well as with Fred Morgan, an Australian recorder maker and the most important creator of Baroque instruments of the late 20th century. Morgan‚Äôs skill of giving his recorders a wealth of tonal moods and possibilities paved the way for instrument makers of the early 21st century to enter a whole new era of recorder-building.

 

Heinz Ammann, Andreas Schwob and K√ľng Recorder Manufacturing Company

Heinz Ammann, who has made many original instruments according to Baroque designs; Andreas Schwob (who retired in 2018), who for many years specialised in the making of recorders for Renaissance and Early Baroque music (many of his instruments can be heard in the album Venezia 1625); K√ľng Recorder Manufacturing Company in Schaffhausen, with whom Maurice Steger has enjoyed a long-standing collaboration creating recorders with modern pitches, which he uses for playing with modern orchestras and for the Tino Flautino children‚Äôs projects.

Intensive collaboration with Ernst Meyer

For over 25 years, Maurice Steger worked together with the ma√ģtre flutier Ernst Meyer, who died in June 2016. During this long period, the two worked together time and again in search of the ideal sound, mutually encouraging and inspiring one another. Fred Morgan‚Äôs recorders, which can be found in all corners of the world, were analysed by Meyer, providing him with new ideas and inspiring him to continue and further develop Morgan‚Äôs legacy. The collaboration between Ernst and Maurice resulted in many wonderful and pioneering instruments.

Ernst Meyer specialised in instruments with rare pitches, as well as in the two most popular treble recorders, made according to designs by J. Denner and P.I. Bressan, and whose sounds are uniquely rich and flexible thanks to highly specialised and micro-technically fine voicing. In collaboration with the K√ľng family in Schaffhausen and the Meyer family in Hemberg, Maurice Steger developed the K4 treble recorder.

Baroque Recorders:

Heinz Ammann (CH) Visit Website

Adrian Brown (NL) Visit Website

Ralf Ehlert (D) Visit Website

Shigeharu Hirao (J) Visit Website

Meyerrecorders (CH) Visit Website

Frederick Morgan (AUS) Visit Website

Luca de Paolis (I) Visit Website

Francesco Li Virghi (I) Visit Website

Renaissance and early Baroque:

Andreas Schwob (CH) retired in 2018 and has closed his workshop

Instruments in modern pitch:

K√ľng (CH) Visit Website

Moeck (D) Visit Website

Huber (CH) Visit Website

Kunath (D) Visit Website

Mollenhauer (D) Visit Website

Recommended dealers for recorder instruments and accessories

Blockfloetenshop.de (EUR) Visit Website

The Early Music Shop (UK) Visit Website

Von Huene Workshop (USA) Visit Website

X

Instrumente

Zusammenarbeit mit den besten Blockflötenbauern

Als Blockflötist verlässt sich Maurice Steger auf die weltbesten Flötenbauer, welche es verstehen, Originalinstrumente nach barockem Vorbild so zu bauen, dass sie authentisch klingen und eben auch für moderne Konzertsäle geeignet sind. Die über 70 Instrumente in verschiedenen Stimmungen, Grössen und mit unterschiedlichen Charakteristika bilden die Basis für das gesamte Blockflötenrepertoire des Künstlers.

Verschiedene Blockflötenbauer haben zur beeindruckenden Instrumentensammlung von Maurice Steger beigetragen – besonders hervorzuheben ist die langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit vier Schweizer Spezialisten des Blockflötenbaus unterschiedlichster Prägung, aber auch die jahrelange Kooperation mit dem wichtigsten Erschaffer barocker Instrumente des späten 20. Jahrhunderts, dem Australier Fred Morgan. Die Kunst Morgans, seinen Blockflöten einen Reichtum an Klangfarben und Möglichkeiten zu verleihen, ebnete wohl den Bauern des frühen 21. Jahrhunderts den Weg in eine neue Ära der Blockflötenbaukunst.

 

Heinz Ammann, Andreas Schwob und Küng Blockflötenmanufaktur

Heinz Ammann, der sehr viele Originale nach barockem Vorbild gebaut hat, Andreas Schwob, der sich auf den Bau von Blockflöten für Renaissance- und Frühbarockmusik spezialisiert hatte (viele seiner Instrumente sind im Album Venezia 1625 zu hören) & seit 2018 pensioniert, die Küng Flötenmanufaktur in Schaffhausen, mit der Maurice Steger eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit für Flöten in moderner Stimmung für das Spiel mit modernen Orchestern und für die Tino Flautino Kinderprojekte verbindet.

Intensive Zusammenarbeit mit Ernst Meyer

Eine über 25 Jahre andauernde Zusammenarbeit bestand zwischen Maurice Steger und dem Maître Flutier Ernst Meyer, welcher im Juni 2016 verstorben ist. Über die lange Zeitperiode suchten die beiden immer wieder gemeinsam nach neuen Klangidealen und haben sich gegenseitig beflügelt und inspiriert. Die auf der ganzen Welt verteilten Blockflöten Fred Morgans initialisierten bei Meyer Analysen, neue Denkansätze und animierten ihn, das Erbe Morgans weiterzuführen. Und weiter zu entwickeln.

Aus der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ernst und Maurice entstanden viele wunderbare und für die Nachwelt richtungsweisende Instrumente; Ernst Meyer spezialisierte sich auf Instrumente in raren Stimmtonlagen sowie auf die beiden am meisten nachgefragten Altblockflöten nach Vorbildern von J. Denner und P.I. Bressan, deren Klang dank hochspezialisiertem und mikrotechnisch feinem Voicing in beiden Fällen einzigartig voll und flexibel ist.

In Zusammenarbeit mit den Familien Küng in Schaffhausen und Meyer in Hemberg entwickelte Maurice Steger die Altblockflöte K4.

Barocke Blockflöten:

Heinz Ammann (CH) Website besuchen

Adrian Brown (NL) Website besuchen

Ralf Ehlert (D) Website besuchen

Shigeharu Hirao (J) Website besuchen

Meyerrecorders (CH) Website besuchen

Frederick Morgan (AUS) Website besuchen

Luca de Paolis (I) Website besuchen

Francesco Li Virghi (I) Website besuchen

Renaissance und frühbarocke Instrumente:

Andreas Schwob (CH) ist pensioniert und führt seine Werkstatt nicht weiter

Instrumente in moderner Stimmung:

Küng (CH) Website besuchen

Moeck (D) Website besuchen

Huber (CH) Website besuchen

Kunath (D) Website besuchen

Mollenhauer (D) Website besuchen

Empfohlene Händler für Blockflöteninstrumente & Zubehör

Blockfloetenshop.de (EUR) Website besuchen

The Early Music Shop (UK) Website besuchen

Von Huene Workshop (USA) Website besuchen

Menü
X
X