Brandenburg Concertos in Malaysia

Maurice Steger will conduct the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra (MPO) as they perform the Brandenburg Concertos Nos. 2 and 4 by Johann Sebastian Bach in the Twin Towers in the heart of Kuala Lumpur. These concerts will open with Handel’s Almira ‘Suite de dance’; the maestro will himself perform the Sammartini Concerto ‘per flautino’ and conduct the ‘Jodelet’ overture by Reinhard Kaiser.

Some time ago, Maurice Steger had the idea of entrusting the recorder part for the fourth Brandenburg Concerto to a young performer. He advertised the role on Facebook; the orchestra will also pay for the young recorder-player’s flight to Malaysia and the local soloist fees. Many people contacted Maurice, who then created a long-list of 40 young musicians and sent their applications to be reviewed by his two agents in Germany and Asia. The agents in turn agreed on a dozen finalists, who were then presented to the orchestra’s executive committee. This committee, comprising the management, the orchestra’s chairman and the musicians, then made the final selection.

We now wish to announce the three winners of this competition!

Vincent Lauzer, a French-Canadian, is one of the most brilliant recorder-players of the younger generation. He performs as a soloist and ensemble member in his band flûte alors!, and now also works as the artistic director of the Lamèque International Baroque Music Festival.

You should try and hear him in concert one day! Unfortunately there was a scheduling conflict with Malaysia; we hope there will be a future opportunity to work together.

2nd place went to the USA; the young recorder-player Martin Bernstein impressed us with his elegant playing and tasteful interpretations – and one of his videos was loved by us all. Take a look at this touchingly beautiful duet » YouTube. The great artistic quality also contributes to the outstanding overall impression.

Dear Martin, we hope to meet you in person one day with a different project.

And now we come to the winner. He impressed – captivated, one might say – everyone with his utterly virtuoso recorder-playing. Congratulations on your victory and thus your musical journey to Malaysia, dear Yi-Chang Liang!

See how organic this young performer makes contemporary music such as that of Hosokawa (» YouTube) sound; how inventively he interprets Jacob van Eyck (» YouTube); and how profoundly he performs Neapolitan Baroque music (» YouTube).

We are pleased that audiences will be able to experience Yi-Chang Liang twice in Brandenburg 4, together with the Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Maurice Steger. Come and greet the artists!

Next Post
Great success for Souvenirs d’Italie!
Previous Post
A great start into the new year!

Latest Entries

Menu
X
X

Brandenburgische Konzerte in Malaysia

Maurice Steger wird die beiden Brandenburgischen Konzerte Nr. 2 und 4 von Johann Sebastian Bach in den Twin Towers im Herzen Kuala Lumpurs mit dem Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra (MPO) zur Aufführung bringen. Eröffnet werden die Konzerte mit Händels Almira ‚Suite de dance’, der Maestro spielt selbst noch das Sammartini Konzert ‚per flautino’ und dirigiert die Ouvertüre ‚Jodelet’ von Reinhard Kaiser.

Vor einiger Zeit hatte Maurice Steger die Idee, die Soloblockflöte für das 4. Brandenburgische Konzert einem jungen Interpreten anzuvertrauen. Er schrieb daraufhin die Stelle, die auch die Flugkosten nach Malaysia und die lokalen Solotarife beinhaltet, auf Facebook aus. Die Resonanz war überwältigend! Von den vielen, vielen Einsendungen traf Maurice eine Vorauswahl von insgesamt 40 Bewerbern, die er daraufhin seinen beiden Agenturen, der deutschen wie der asiatischen, vorstellte. Diese wiederum einigten sich auf ein Dutzend Finalisten, welche der Orchesterdirektion in Kuala Lumpur präsentiert wurden. Dieses Kommittee, bestehend aus dem Management, dem Orchestervorstand und Musikern haben dann schlussendlich gewählt.

Hiermit möchten wir Ihnen die drei Sieger dieses Wettbewerbes bekanntgeben!

Der aus dem französischen Teil Kanadas stammende Vincent Lauzer gehört zu den brilliantesten Flötisten der jungen Gene­ration. Er ist als Solist, als Ensemble­mitglied seiner Gruppe flûte alors! unter­wegs und mittler­weile auch als künstlerischer Direktor des Lamèque Barockmusik Festivals tätig.

Platz 2 geht in die USA: der junge Blockflötist Martin Bernstein überzeugte durch sein edles Blockflötenspiel, seine geschmack­vollen Inter­pretationen und vorallem eines seiner Videos hat grossen Gefallen bei allen ausgelöst. Schauen Sie sich doch einmal dieses rührend schöne Duett auf » YouTube an. Auch die künstlerisch hochstehende Qualität des Videos trägt zum hervorragenden Gesamteindruck bei.

Wir hoffen, lieber Martin, dich einmal bei einem anderen Projekt kennenlernen zu dürfen.

Platz 1: Nun kommen wir zum Sieger, er hat alle Instanzen mit seinem hochvirtuosen Flötenspiel überzeugt, ja in den Bann gezogen. Herzliche Gratulation zum Sieg und somit zur Musikreise nach Malaysia, lieber Yi-Chang Liang!

Schauen Sie einmal, wie organisch bei diesem jungen Spieler aktuelle Musik wie jene von Hosokawa (» YouTube) klingt oder wie einfallsreich er Jacob van Eyck interpretiert (» YouTube) oder wie tiefgründig er neapolitanische Barockmusik spielt (» YouTube).

Wir freuen uns, dass Yi-Chang Liang zusammen mit dem Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra unter Maurice Steger in Brandenburg 4 zweimal zu erleben sein wird. Kommen Sie doch vorbei und grüssen die Künstler!

Nächster Beitrag
Tolle Erfolge für Souvenirs d’Italie!
Vorheriger Beitrag
Voller Energie ins neue Jahr!

Neueste Beiträge

X