Discography

Mr Harrach’s Musical Diaries

Concerti & Sonate by Giuseppe Sammartini, Lelio Colista, Giovanni Adolfo Hasse, Domenico Sarro, Antonio Caldara, Leonardo Vinci, Leonardo Leo, Nicola Fiorenza, Antonio Maria Montanari, Giovanni Antonio Piani

The Austrian Count von Harrach was a diplomat, statesman, the viceroy of ­Naples, and an enthusiastic collector of art. Yet he also loved music so much that he commissioned works from his friends and from renowned composers.

We can assume that Harrach probably also played the recorder himself, as the recently found manuscripts ­collected by and ­associated with Harrach ­contain a conspicuously great number of ­compositions for flauto dolce, ranging from sonatas, pieces of chamber ­music, concerti da camera and solo concertos – a new treasure trove!

Maurice Steger has been to investigate, and here presents a collection of works which Count Harrach collected during his travels in Italy and brought home with him as souvenirs – previously ­unheard music at first hand!

RECORDING
April and May 2016, catholic church Seewen (SO), Switzerland
Sound engineer, producer and editor: Christian Sager (www.sagersounds.ch)Photos by Molina Visuals
© 2016 harmonia mundi

Mr Handel’s Dinner (2019)
Concerti per flauto (2014)
Menu
X
X

Diskografie

Musikalische Reiseimpressionen des Grafen von Harrach

Concerti & Sonate mit Musik von Giuseppe Sammartini, Lelio Colista, Giovanni Adolfo Hasse, Domenico Sarro, Antonio Caldara, Leonardo Vinci, Leonardo Leo, Nicola Fiorenza, Antonio Maria Montanari, Giovanni Antonio Piani

Der österreichische Graf von ­Harrach war Diplomat, Staats­­mann,­­ Vize­könig von Neapel und ­be­­­geisterter Kunstsammler. Doch auch die Musik gefiel ihm so sehr, dass er bei Freunden und an­gesehenen Compositeuren Werke in Auftrag gab.

Wir können davon ausgehen, dass ­Harrach wohl auch selbst Blockflöte spielte, denn in den kürzlich ge­fundenen Manuskripten von und um Harrach sind viele Kompositionen auch für den flauto dolce, seien es Sonaten, Kammermusikstücke, Concerti da camera oder Solokonzerte erhalten – ein neuer Fund!

Maurice Steger geht der Sache auf den Grund und stellt hier eine Sammlung von Werken vor, die Graf Harrach auf seinen Italienreisen sammelte und als Souvenirs nach Hause brachte – un­erhörte Musik aus erster Hand!

AUFNAHME
April und Mai 2016, röm.-kath. Kirche Seewen (SO), Schweiz
Aufnahmeleiter, Tonmeister und Schnitt: Christian Sager
Texte: Stephan Mester
Fotos: Josep Molina
© 2016 harmonia mundi

Mr Handel’s Dinner (2019)
Concerti per flauto (2014)
Menü
X
X