Maurice Steger is the first western soloist to play ‘The Flying Song’ with a traditional Chinese orchestra

We usually associate Maurice Steger with Baroque music. But not exclusively. Did you
know that the recorder player travelled to Taiwan this summer in order to take part in the première of a truly beautiful ‘east meets west’ story?

Maurice Steger, with his ‘normal’ recorders in his luggage, is the first western soloist to have played the full-length recorder concerto ‘The Flying Song’ (Fei-Ge) by Jianping Tang together with the Taiwan Traditional Chinese Orchestra.

This superlative orchestra performs with traditional Chinese instruments in every pitch – a great auditory difference, as well as a great difference in playing technique, compared to western music culture, something which Steger found both pleasing and challenging.

Here you can see two short clips from the rehearsals in Taipei. The subsequent concerts – in which Maurice Steger combined ‘The Flying Song’ with Vivaldi’s Gardellino concerto in a thematically sensitive way – were recorded, and we hope to be able to present you with some clips at a later date.”

Next Post
New CD
Previous Post
New CD! Vivaldi: Concerti per flauto

Latest Entries

Menu
X
X

Maurice Steger spielte als erster westlicher Solist mit einem traditionell Chinesischen Orchester ‚Flying Song‘

Wir bringen Maurice Steger meist mit Barockmusik in Verbindung. Aber nicht nur. Wussten Sie, dass der Flötist diesen Sommer nach Taiwan reiste, um die Erstaufführung einer East meets West Geschichte der schönsten Sorte zu gestalten?

Als erster westlicher Solist, mit seinen ‚normalen’ Blockflöten im Gepäck, spielte Maurice Steger mit dem Taiwan Traditional Chinese Orchestra das ausgewachsene Blockflötenkonzert ‚Flying Song‘ Fei-Ge von Jianping Tang.

Und bei diesem Orchester der Spitzenklasse wird in allen Registern mit traditionell chinesischen Instrumenten gespielt – ein klanglich wie spieltechnisch doch sehr grosser Unterschied zur westlichen Musizierkultur, stellte Steger freudig wie gefordert auf der Tour fest.

Hier sehen Sie zwei kleine Ausschnitte aus den Proben in Taipei. Die darauffolgenden Konzerte, Maurice Steger kombinierte ‚flying Song’ dem Thema entsprechend mit Vivaldis Gardellino Konzert, wurden mitgeschnitten und wir hoffen, Ihnen zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt Ausschnitte präsentieren zu können.

Nächster Beitrag
Blind gehört
Vorheriger Beitrag
Neue CD: Vivaldi – Concerti per flauto
Menü
X
X